Heading to Haroonabad

zaqe

As you may already know, Ijaz Ul Haq (my Father) is running from NA 190 and NA 191 during the elections and has several contestants (from PMLZ) participating from around the region. He is taking part in the upcoming elections as an Independent candidate (PMLZ with a helicopter symbol) and has opponents from PPP, PTI, PMLN and all the other regulars up against him as well. Just to give you a quick brief, he has previously served as Minister of Labor, Manpower & Overseas Pakistanis and Minister for Religious Affairs and Minorities.

Although he had been winning his seat for twenty years ..  he was unable to succeed last time unfortunately and lost to Afzal Sindhu from PPP. (Details on all three candidates & their votes below)                                                

  1. Afzal Sindu                                                           83,935
  2. Ijaz Ul Haq                                                          79,240
  3. Muhammad Yar Khan Kamoka                     2,438

After much thought, consideration and intense conversations with my Father, I have decided to head to Haroonabad in a few days to help campaign for the upcoming May 11th elections.

A close friend (Kalsoom Lakhani) recently insisted that I should write about my experience  so I finally decided to give in. Plus, I’m sure I’ll desperately need a place to rant, vent and express everything too. I tried to set up a Tumblr account on my phone but I can’t seem to buy it from the UAE app store on the iPhone so I guess it’s time to revert back to the old blog. Yup, “Chasing thoughts”. After three long years, it’s finally back. Much to chase here .. so I guess it’s appropriate anyway.

It won’t be easy. But it will be exciting. Districts for me to cover (separate from both my parents) are being chalked out as I type this blog post and I’ll be on the road for at least 12 – 15 hours a day while I’m there. It will be a challenging but hopefully rewarding experience and I’m really starting to look forward to it. Super psyched to meet the people of Haroonabad and to get to know the area too.

Won’t lie though  .. the attacks and violence throughout all the districts in Pakistan during the elections is disturbing (to say the least) but I guess we’ll just have to keep our chin up and fight through it.

I doubt I’ll have time to write beautiful essays on my day-to-day experience but watch out for thoughts and pictures sprawled across this blog for the next few weeks.

– OUH

3 comments

  1. Best of luck!! Looking forward to hearing about your experience. I am sure you will do an amazing job mobilising voters! 🙂

  2. Zeeshaan · · Reply

    Best of luck Omar! I am sure you will do an amazing job and win everyone’s hearts and votes from Haroonabad!!

  3. Ijaz janjua · · Reply

    waiting to see u in haroon abad 1st time.. hope u will enjoy the campaign and victory of pml z Insha Allah

Leave a Reply

