Aik Alif

o01g1v
A friend of mine just tagged me in a “note” on Facebook, in which he provided the translation of Bulleh Shah Kafi’s “Aik Alif”.

As you may remember from my previous post on Coke Studio, which was @ https://omarulhaq.wordpress.com/2009/06/11/coke-studio-returns/, Aik Alif was recently performed by Saeen Zahoor, Ali Noor, and Ali Hamza in one of their live performance episodes on Coke Studio.  

As my friend said in his note, this song is brilliant and really makes you think and question all the madness that has been going on in Pakistan in today’s day and age in the name of religion, and especially God.

Translation:
“You read to become all knowledgeable
But you never read yourself
You run to enter your mosques and temples
But you never entered your own heart
Everyday you fight Satan
But you never fight your own Ego
Bulleh Shah you try grabbing that which is in the sky
But you never get hold of what sits inside yourself
Stop it all my friend
stop seeking all this knowledge my friend
Only an Alif is what you need
stop it all my friend
Stop seeking all this knowledge my friend
God is Greatness, God is All”

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gkyG0u21oms

2 comments

  1. Beautiful translation!

    I’ve had the song on my play list for a while – and I’m still not tired of it…

  2. This is really deep. I just heard it for the first time.

Leave a Reply

