Ijaz Ul Haq

n21501048_30245664_8323
Atiqa Odho, a famous Pakistani television & film actress, recently interviewed my father, Ijaz Ul Haq, at our house in Rawalpindi, Pakistan.  The interview was aired on Geo TV a few weeks ago and has finally been uploaded on You Tube. It was one of my favorite interviews as it portrayed a lot about his personal life along with aspects of his political career. In the interview, he has discussed his childhood, his college days, his relationship with his father, his family, and some of his personal life, which he hasn’t discussed much in public before.

As some of you may already know, he is a prominent Pakistani politician and former Federal Minister of Religious Affairs & Minorities of Pakistan. He entered Pakistani politics after his father, General Zia Ul Haq, was assassinated in 1988 and has won 4 out of 5 contested elections.

Even though only 12 out of the 60 minutes have been uploaded, you can get a feel for the interview by clicking on the links below

Part One –  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c9A0KZhgV4Q

Part Two – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GyEEMLuIQ4I

18 comments

  1. This is a fantastic interview so far, but I want to see the rest–when will it be available do you know?

  2. Anonymous · · Reply

    Its good to hear General Zia’s son speak about him as someone who was close to him rather than only hear our teacher’s versions of Zia as a dictator.

  3. Great interview! I wish he had spoken more about his personal life but I guess these were only 12 minutes!!!!! Repeating what AF says, when is the entire one available?

  4. I have the entire interview on DVD but I’m not sure how to upload it on youtube myself. Hoping that the entire interview is uploaded soon though…

    If any of you have any ideas of how I can do this myself – Please let me know.

  5. What a picture. It shows the sensitivity and yet inner steeliness of Ijaz-ul-Haq sahib. and terrific interview

  6. Danish Khan · · Reply

    I’ve asked to watch the DVD as well. Because watching the one on youtube isn’t enough. This was long waited for!! There were I guess billion SMS’s sent between our families with regards to the interview…haha

  7. Shaheryar Mirza · · Reply

    Nice interview, very personal. Chilling in the hallway. hahahahaha. I’m guessing the piano music is coming from Mushtaq’s grand piano in the back..ahahahahaha..nice interview..why does geo (and other pakistani stations) insist on having music DURING the interview. It’s so strange, it’s like they are trying to make it a romantic moment from sleepless in seattle. Anyway, nice interview with pops and interesting anecdotes. Well done!

  8. What a cute interview. I wanna see the rest. Will have to ask him some of these stories next time.

  9. Shaza Haq · · Reply

    Our home looks so beautiful on television. Mashallah. And Ijaz is looing dashing as ever.

  10. God bless you Ijaz bro …

  11. Salam…
    You may upload the entire interview on you tube but in chunks of 10 minutes…

  12. The Ijaz Ul Haq and Atiqa Odho interview will be shown on Geo TV in the US & Canada on July 11th . I think it’s at 9:00 pm. I’m not 100% sure but I think it’s being shown in the UK then as well.

  13. I saw the interview! 🙂

  14. Priceless , in my opinion , very reflective . Your father should give more interviews Omar.

  15. Ishan Dhar · · Reply

    What I like about this interview is the fact that he reflects on his life , rather than just stating the facts . Many politicians don’t really dwell on their origins as much , for the fear of appearing unimpressive , however , Ijaz however is more respectable and impressive as he actually worked for living despite being Zia ul Haqs son and is proud of his humble beginning . I love people who are truly honest about their lives and opinions and Ijaz ul Haq is one of them . I hope he gets a little more proactive , his country needs him. Omar , you should get your dad to do more interviews.

  16. Oms, do you have the full version of the interview yet?

  17. Zia ul haq was a great man he will always be respected because Allah has granted respect to him, he was a true man true muslim.When i look at his picture or his videos i feel a lot of love and respect in me for him and i pray to Allah to forgive all of sins and give him a good place among His beloved creatures.

  18. Great Person ( Son of a great Man )

Leave a Reply

