Greece

greece32
__________________________________________________________

Although I haven’t traveled around the world as much as I would have liked to, I can confidently say that London is one of my most favorite cities in the world. We used to come as a family during the summer time all through my childhood and I would spend my time feeding the pigeons in Hyde Park, acting like a brat in Hamleys, making regular trips to Alton Towers & Thorp Park, and acting as a complete fresh off the boat tourist in Leicester Square.

After moving here permanently about three years ago, I quickly realized that visiting London and living in London are two completely different things. Coming from a country where you can witness over enthusiastic salesmen fighting over their customers, it was slightly odd to see how life was completely different over here.

I recently had a panic attack one day when I realized that I haven’t really made the effort to travel around Europe while I have been here. Being a Pakistani passport holder, I have really been struggling with the whole Schengen visa thing. I did try to contact the French Embassy last year but was told that the earliest appointment I could get was for 4 months later. Let’s admit it, there are some of us who just aren’t organized enough to have booked their flights & tickets months before the actual trip and I’m definitely one of them.

I decided to call the Greek Embassy who then told me that the earliest appointment they could offer me was in June. After much consideration, I picked up the phone and called the Greek Embassy in Pakistan. They told me that they could give me an appointment in 2 weeks and that it should only take a few working days in order for me to get the visa. Pakistan Zindabad! As difficult as it was to control my excitement over the telephone, I remained calm and told them that I would like to set up an appointment with them. The good news is that my appointment is on Friday morning, which is when I land in Islamabad and the bad news is that I have a feeling they won’t be able to give me a visa in 4 working days but I have decided to ignore that for now.

Let’s just pretend that I have successfully gotten the visa already so I can ask for some advice. The trip to Greece is being planned for the end of May and we are having trouble deciding on a location. Athens, Crete, or Santorini?  Any feedback would be appreciated!  

5 comments

  1. franklinsrow · · Reply

    I got my Schengen visa from the French embassy in DC. It was soooo annoying. However, I got an appointment in 2 days and it took about 10 days to get the visa. They only gave me 3 months or something. Good luck with Pak. I doubt they’ll get you a visa in 4 working days since I believe they have to physically send your passport to Greece.

  2. This better be a sick joke! They should not be even thinking of sending my passport to Greece! Fingers crossed. My appointment is in a few hours.
    – OUH

  3. I didn’t get the visa and the lady was really rude as well! She laughed on my face and spat all over me when I told her I needed it in 4 working days. Bye Bye Greece (temporarily) and Hello Washington DC!

  4. U think with the economy in the SHITS, countries will be begging tourists to come over and spend money but it seems like they dont really care… and i’m sorry WHY THE HELL DO WE NEED A VISA and americans, canadians and EU ppl DONT.. I DONT THINK THATS FAIR and something needs to be freakin done about it.. sorry sensitive topic LOL LOL

  5. Oh no Omar, that really sucks, so then? What are you going to do now?

Leave a Reply

